ArtsyArchitette

Beauty Musings & Rogue Ramblings

MAC Pro Lip Palette: Editorial Reds!!

2 Comments

Happy Hump Day!!

Sorry for being out of touch, I had to sort out a few technical issues with my new internet security suite and firewall, but all is good now 😉

So onto the pretty stuff – I had this nifty little MAC lip palette on my “buy me!” list for a month or so now and finally was able to get it last week and I’m not disappointed 🙂

It is the MAC PRO Lip Palette in Editorial Reds. They also have Preferred Pinks, Editorial Oranges, Select Plums and Modern Browns. Oh how I wish I could have them all, but since I couldn’t splurge to that extent, I opted for the Editorial Reds palette.

ArtsyArchitette MAC Pro Lip Palette Editoral Reds Lipstick

Each palette comes with a $40 price tag, and personally, I feel it is worth the money for what it is.

MAC would be considered a luxury/department brand, with some of the price tags to match, but worth it – if you know which products to go after.

There are many MAC products that I would recommend (and some I would pass on), but MAC lipsticks, with their high quality, staying power and pigment payoff, are ones you should really consider testing out; which is why I think these palettes are a perfect option.

The palette comes with six (6) MAC lipstick shades, 1g each, for a total of 6g of product. A single MAC lipstick, 3g of product, costs $15. So to get each of the included colors alone would cost you $90 and with the palette you get 6 pans of some of their top shades for $40.

Yes, you do get less product, which is the exact reason I chose the Editorial Reds palette, since most of these are not colors I wear every single day, but rather just when I want that bold lip look. I also think this is perfect timing, since I LOVE a bold lip especially during this time of the year.

If you need some convincing that you can wear a bold lip too, or just need a few tips, check out my Beauty 101: Bold Lips post here.

ArtsyArchitette MAC Pro Lip Palette Editoral Reds Lipstick Swatches

Remember a good lip brush is a must with this palette and I suggest avoiding finger application, as these shades do stain due to their strong pigments and staying power.

Quick Shade Overview:

“Dare You” – A brown red cremesheen lipstick that applies slightly sheer, very buildable.

“Lady Danger” – A bright orange-coral red matte lipstick, very pigmented.

“On Hold” – A yellow-pink-based red cremesheen lipstick, slightly sheer and buildable.

“Russian Red” – A true vivid blue-based red matte lipstick, great color on almost everyone.

“MAC Red” – A bright blue-pink-based red satin lipstick, very smooth on the lips.

“Ruby Woo” – A true blue-based red retro matte lipstick, very matte and slightly less vivid that Russian Red.

Author: ArtsyArchitette

Artist. Architecture lover! Beauty Nerd. Blogger. Crafty Aficionado. Music Enthusiast. Fashion Fiend. And yes I am like no other, deal with it world ♥ Obsession has such a negative connotation, but it’s true, I am obsessed with creativity and all products that help me create. Beauty products are not excluded from my obsession and while my blog has no distinct topic, all things gorgeous and fashionable will probably be a main focus. Here to share my ever-expanding knowledge, interesting finds and random factoids. P.S. I miss my studio

2 thoughts on “MAC Pro Lip Palette: Editorial Reds!!

  1. The colours are so pretty!

Leave a Reply

