ArtsyArchitette

Beauty Musings & Rogue Ramblings

Long Overdue – July/August 2012 MyGlam Bags

3 Comments

As in my my overdue Birchbox post, again, sorry for this being soooo late. I’ll keep this one as short as possible, considering it will be a quick review of the last two MyGlam months🙂

July was a really good one… 

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free Lotion (Deluxe 1.0 fl oz. Sample)

I use this product already – so I loved getting this one. Great to have a small bottle on hand for travel or just your bag. I use this when I am going to be at home mainly, in the evening or just not really going out (since it does not contain SPF).

This moisturizer really feels like you are applying a barrier layer – locking the moisture in and everything else out. It is non-greasy, with a natural somewhat medicinal/botanical scent, and has a cooling affect on the skin. It works well under some make-up, but not all.

It is oil-free, paraben-free, fragrance-free and colorant-free; and helps keep oil in check.

Full Size: $26.00 (4.2 fl. oz.)

NuMe HydroPunch Hydrating Conditioner (Deluxe .7 oz. Sample)

I hate having to judge conditioners I only get to use once or twice, but this one was clearly a very nice conditioner. I definitely felt the effect of its “hydro punch” ingredients (Argan oil, strengthening bamboo and conditioning sage) after I used it. I would definitely consider purchasing this conditioner, though considering how much conditioner I go through, it may get a bit pricey.

Caution: It is quite heavy on the fragrance/ perfume – but the scent is pleasant.

Full Size: $24.99 (8.45 oz.)

Yes To Cucumbers On-The-Go Facial Towelettes (Travel Pack – 10 Towelettes)

LOVE THESE!! I use them already – so I was excited to get them! I always carry a Travel Pack with me and have the full 30 count pack on my bedside table.

Read more on them in my Brands I love: Yes To post here.

Travel Pack: $2.99 (10 count).

Full Size: $5.99 (30 count).

Josie Maran Magic Marker Lip and Cheek Stain in “Quickstep” (FULL SIZE)

Quickstep is a rich plum – which comes off a bit warmer in tone when I apply it – considering my yellow undertones. It is a nice, but pretty standard, lip/cheek stain pen. It has good staying power once set, fragrance, cruelty and paraben free, and vegan friendly.

Though it is a good stain pen/marker, there are others just as good for less.

Full Size: $19.00.

Circus by Andrea’s Choice Nail Polish in “Reverso” (FULL SIZE)

White nail color. Vegan and cruelty free. Bold and quite pigmented, dries semi-matte and sets fairly fast. Good polish overall.

Brand “Circus” was created by Andrea’s Choice – one of the “YouTube Beauty Gurus” behind MyGlam.

Full Size: Price Unknown – not available for purchase until this fall.

 

and onto August… which was okay. 

Demeter Roll On Perfume Oil in “Dragon Fruit” (FULL SIZE)

Nice, but as expected, very fruity and a hint of floral. An oil, so very little is needed. Made with Jojoba Oil and Vitamin E,  so it is skin softening and non-drying.

Full Size: $10.00 (.29 fl oz).

S.A.L.T.Y. Cosmetics Glama-ZOID! Eyeshadow (.035 oz. Sample)

Packing and branding seems a little cheap, but product is okay. Simple enough – extremely fine milled mineral shadow. Color is an iridescent violet pink.

Could be used as an extremely subtle highlight, but overall staying power seems to be lacking!

Full Size: $14.97 (Large 2.5 grams).

Full Size: $4.50 (Small 1.25 grams).

Sample: $3.97.

Eclos Cellular Activator Facial Serum (Deluxe .5 fl oz. Sample)

Unsure about this one… I tried it but, ehhh – undecided. It applies well. It is a very thin, non-greasy, serum that absorbs very quickly. The real thing the irks me is the scent – a strange semi-natural lemony funk.

This lightweight serum helps wake up skin’s self renewal process to revitalize fatigued, stressed skin. Unique plant extracts help boost firmness and tone to smooth out fine lines and damage. Exclusively formulated with rejuvenating Apple Stem Cells, clinically proven to significantly reduce wrinkles and improve skin texture in two weeks. Comfrey, Gotu Kola, Tumeric and Green Tea antioxidants shield against skin aging environment assaults, helping to prolong a youthful appearance.

If you haven’t figured out yet, I get put off by things with unpleasant scents – no matter how great the product may claim to be.

Full Size: $24.99 (1.7 fl oz.)

Eclos Moisture Therapy Regenerative Cream (.25 fl oz. Sample)

Same sentiments as the serum – undecided. Has the same semi-natural lemony funk going on that just puts me off.

This medium-weight moisturizer with restorative benefits helps smooth and brighten for a youthful finish. Hydration replenishes dry, dulling skin suffering from the signs of aging. Powerful extracts and antioxidants boost collagen levels for noticeable tightening and firming. Exclusively formulated with rejuvenating Apple Stem Cells, clinically proven to significantly reduce wrinkles and improve skin texture in two weeks.

Full Size: $24.99 (2 oz.)

Circus by Andrea’s Choice Nail Polish in “Ringmaster” (FULL SIZE)

Same sentiments as the Reverso white polish. Neon pink nail color. Vegan and cruelty free. Bold and quite pigmented, dries semi-matte and sets fairly fast. Good polish overall.

Brand “Circus” was created by Andrea’s Choice – one of the “YouTube Beauty Gurus” behind MyGlam.

Full Size: Price Unknown – not available for purchase until this fall.

MyGlam BONUS: MyGlam Glam Gloss (Full Size )

Pardon the photo quality. Bright, fuscia pink gloss that is quite pigmented. Only slightly sticky, but overall quite smooth. Does get tacky after a bit of time on the lips. Smells of strawberries and bubblegum – so I’ll be holding onto it.

Not available for purchase.

😉

Author: ArtsyArchitette

Artist. Architecture lover! Beauty Nerd. Blogger. Crafty Aficionado. Music Enthusiast. Fashion Fiend. And yes I am like no other, deal with it world ♥ Obsession has such a negative connotation, but it’s true, I am obsessed with creativity and all products that help me create. Beauty products are not excluded from my obsession and while my blog has no distinct topic, all things gorgeous and fashionable will probably be a main focus. Here to share my ever-expanding knowledge, interesting finds and random factoids. P.S. I miss my studio

3 thoughts on “Long Overdue – July/August 2012 MyGlam Bags

  1. my glam seems like they really improved a lot x

    • They certainly have – and they’re still in their first year – I hopped on board from the second or third bag I think and just decided to invest in a 1 yr subscription to see how they would progress. I think they will continue to gain more good partners/companies🙂

Leave a Reply

