ArtsyArchitette

Beauty Musings & Rogue Ramblings

What’s in my box? The April 2012 Birchbox

1 Comment

So this month’s Birchbox theme was “Natural Wonders” – with the box being filled with natural and/or organic goodies. Admittedly, I am a bit apprehensive about this box of stuff, as sometimes my skin reacts not-so-positively to certain natural products.

The Box

The Card

Befine Skincare Sampler

What’s included: 2 Single Serve Befine Gentle Cleansers (with Sugar, Mint, Oats & Rice) and 3 Single Serve Befine Daily Moisturizers with SPF 15 (with Rosemary, Pomegranate & Rice).

The Befine products are natural based products that are stated as paraben free, with vegetarian proteins and allergen free fragrance.

I am not concerned with the cleanser, as I know how my skin reacts to sugar, mint, oats and rice – which my skin has always done well with. My concern usually lies when using a different moisturizer – but I’m willing to give it a shot and it does have SPF.

UPDATE: This Befine crap! The SPF moisturizers were expired – by years!! Birchbox offered Birchbox points to make up for the screw up.

dirt. Luxe Salt Scrub in Lemon Leaf

An all-over body scrub with (in order of quantity as stated on the label) salt, shea butter, coconut oil, grapeseed oil, jojoba oil, avocado oil, raspberry seeds, vitamin E, and lemon oil.

Now, I do love trying out new body scrubs, but this is such a tiny container! I will get one single use out of this on possibly just my elbows and knees – if I’m lucky. It is interesting there is no water used in the scrub at all and it is quite heavy on the lemon scent. We’ll see if this tiny pot of scrub wins me over.

Vapour Organic Beauty Elixir Lipgloss (in the color 305 Enigma)

A cool-toned sheer violet gloss with botanicals like lemon balm and green tea – Full Size Tube.

I’m probably going to give this one away to my little cousin or something, it just isn’t doing it for me. While the color weirded me out a bit, it did turn out to be a cool-toned yet quite sheer and NON-STICKY gloss. The fact that it isn’t sticky is great but I just can’t get over the smell.

The smell reminds me of a cheap make-up lipgloss smell – like the kind of lipgloss that smells the same as the eyeshadows and blush that you get in a cheap make-up kit you get as a 1o-year old. You know the one that is like 3.99 and packaged in a crappy pink plastic case that you think is so cool – when your 10! Also, it tastes similar to the way it smells.

Le Palais des Thes Tea Bags

I LOVE tea – like seriously, I have a large tea collection, so I’m always happy to try out a new brand. I received The des Alizes – a green tea with flower petals, scented with white peach, kiwi and watermelon! I also received The du Hammam – a green tea with green date pulp, orange blossom, rose and berries. Can’t wait to try them out😀

 And now onto what I am most excited for…

Orofluido Beauty Elixir (.17 fl oz)

Silkiness, lightness and shine – Beauty Elixir for your hair, with argan, linseed and cyperus oils.

I have very long and curly hair, and by nature it is drier and more easily susceptible to damage, so I’m always looking for amazing hair treatments (especially oil treatments).  This one smells AMAZING! Apparently, it is a vanilla amber scent and it truly is intoxicating – as mentioned by Birchbox.

Oil treatments go a long way, as they are not meant to be used all over your head and hair,  so I’m sure I’ll get a couple uses out of this sample. The feel like its one of those products that makes you think – hey, the scent alone is an excuse to buy it – so hopefully it turns out to be the holy grail of oil treatments. If anything, at least I’ll enjoy breathing in the scent while applying it to my hair!

So overall, this Birchbox was good – with the hair treatment and teas being my favorite things to try out.

Author: ArtsyArchitette

Artist. Architecture lover! Beauty Nerd. Blogger. Crafty Aficionado. Music Enthusiast. Fashion Fiend. And yes I am like no other, deal with it world ♥ Obsession has such a negative connotation, but it’s true, I am obsessed with creativity and all products that help me create. Beauty products are not excluded from my obsession and while my blog has no distinct topic, all things gorgeous and fashionable will probably be a main focus. Here to share my ever-expanding knowledge, interesting finds and random factoids. P.S. I miss my studio

One thought on “What’s in my box? The April 2012 Birchbox

  1. I got Orofluido in my March box. I really loved it!!

Leave a Reply

