ArtsyArchitette

Beauty Musings & Rogue Ramblings

It’s Pink and Spongy… and a favorite of mine

2 Comments

It’s the MAC Pro Performance Sponge! 

Yes, it looks quite strange and you can call it the MAC version of the cult loved “BeautyBlender” cosmetics sponge, but I’m really loving this thing.

No, I haven’t actually tried out the BeautyBlender, for a 2 main reasons:

  1. It’s pricey, $10 more than the MAC Pro Performance Sponge
  2. Available online only, meaning I couldn’t get my hands on prior to buying

So what most others say about the MAC Pro Performance Sponge versus the BeautyBlender (BB)

  1. The MAC Pro Performance Sponge is more firm/dense than the BB
  2. The MAC Pro Performance Sponge does not expand when wet/damp – but the large rounded end of the MAC Pro Performance Sponge is equal/slightly larger than a damp BB
  3. The MAC Pro Performance Sponge can be a little more difficult to hold onto (though I have no problems with it)
  4. The shape, the MAC Pro Performance Sponge has a large rounded base, edge and tapered point – in comparison to the BB
  5. The MAC Pro Performance Sponge is not quite as bouncy against your face as the BB
  6. Overall, the MAC Pro Performance Sponge performs just as well as the BB
So my favorite things about the MAC Pro Performance Sponge
  1. It gives a perfect finish on the skin
  2. Can be used with liquids, creams and powders
  3. Has the large rounded end, an edge (like common cosmetic wedges) and tapers to a small point – perfect for applying to all areas of the face
  4. It doesn’t suck up products, so I don’t have to use “extra” foundation – like most other cosmetic sponges

So I am a makeup brush fiend – seriously, I own A LOT of brushes, but I cannot use a brush for foundation after using this sponge! I didn’t have time to wash the sponge this morning and grabbed a brush instead, I was met with disappointment – the sponge has spoiled me!

I always spritz the sponge with some Fix+ (or distilled water if I have run out), as the sponge works best when damp.  This is great because if I forget to wash it the night before, I can do so in the morning and squeeze out all the water with a clean paper towel, leaving the sponge perfectly damp for foundation application.

I am loving this so much that I am probably going to go get another one tomorrow, to use with other products like blush, bronzer, as well as contouring. Currently, I already use the same one for foundation, then concealer, cream contour and cream blushes – in that order.

Cleaning the sponge is also fairly easy. My process:

  1. Take the sponge
  2. Do NOT wet the sponge
  3. Grab some oil (yeah – I did just said oil, grape seed or olive, or even baby oil)
  4. Pour the oil on the more stained areas and work the oil into the sponge – the oil breaks down the cosmetic ingredients and separates the makeup from the sponge
  5. Squeeze the dirty out!
  6. Repeat until the stains are gone
  7. Grab some of your gentle facial cleanser or some antibacterial hand soap and wash out the oil
  8. Squeeze all the water out using a clean paper towel and check for any oil residue (if yes, wash once more)

So far the sponge is holding up like new each time I wash and reuse it – we’ll see how many months I get out of it.

P.S. HAPPY HUNGER GAMES – may the odds be ever in your favor!

Author: ArtsyArchitette

Artist. Architecture lover! Beauty Nerd. Blogger. Crafty Aficionado. Music Enthusiast. Fashion Fiend. And yes I am like no other, deal with it world ♥ Obsession has such a negative connotation, but it’s true, I am obsessed with creativity and all products that help me create. Beauty products are not excluded from my obsession and while my blog has no distinct topic, all things gorgeous and fashionable will probably be a main focus. Here to share my ever-expanding knowledge, interesting finds and random factoids. P.S. I miss my studio

2 thoughts on “It’s Pink and Spongy… and a favorite of mine

  1. Pingback: A few of my favorite things: March « ArtsyArchitette

  2. Pingback: Birchbox: September/October 2012 « ArtsyArchitette

Leave a Reply

