ArtsyArchitette

Beauty Musings & Rogue Ramblings

I have a mistress, her name is Wild Bluebell.

4 Comments

As in Wild Bluebell, the Jo Malone London Cologne, for all you dirty birds out there!

Deliciously dewy, this cologne drenches the skin with the delicate scent of bluebells. Luminous with lush persimmon, lily of the valley and eglantine. Mesmerising. {Courtesy of Jo Malone London}

This has quickly become one of my most perfect and favorite scents to wear. It is the just right fragrance to transition from Winter into Spring and to carry me through till Summer.

It’s a light floral scent, without being too feminine nor powdery. The fragrance stays close to the body, so it’s not a suffocating fragrance for those around you. Granted I would never categorize Wild Bluebell as being capable of being offensive to the nose at all.

While it is a clearly floral based cologne with the tiniest hint of fruitiness, it is a quite clean and earthy scent. It’s quite different from many other fragrances I own – a casually charming scent that makes me feel like I’ve wandered through a meadow in the forest. That sounds a little ridiculous and silly now that I am actually writing it out, but I have actually walked through a meadow in a forest and Wild Bluebell brings me back to that memory – just a bit more whimsical.

What may be surprising to many is that Wild Bluebell contains no true bluebell extracts. You see the common bluebell, also known as The English Bluebell, is a protected flower species in the United Kingdom – where over half of all common bluebells are found and where the Jo Malone brand is based.

Instead, other  fragrances were combined to mimic the bluebell. After some hunting around, here is the composition of Wild Bluebell from Christine Nagel, the master perfumer to thank for this fragrance, from an article in The Telegraph :

Nagel [Christine Nagel, an award-winning master perfumer who, for the last 30 years, has created fragrances for the likes of Dior, Armani, Lalique and Narcisso Rodrigues] began her interpretation with dewy floral and a touch of clove in the top notes, “exaggerating certain facts – the wet ground against the spiciness, something a bit piquant and characteristic”. Orange flower was used to blend these into the more obviously wild-floral heart [lily of the valley, hyacinth] of the cologne – jasmine and eglantine with a corresponding dash of tartly fruity persimmon.

At the base rests white musk – “the petticoat that holds up the scent, like in Dior’s New Look” – and a tiny amount of [white] amber, “because it melts sensuously on the skin”.

All of which results in something clear, discrete and deceptively naïve without being so fragile that it disappears, leaving a trail that is softly lasting without being aggressive. If scents had weight, this is a satin, not a velvet – a wildflower rather than a heady hothouse bloom.

Jo Malone’s Wild Bluebell is definitely my most expensive fragrance, but for me it was a splurge that was worth it. Jo Malone has an extensive range and I would encourage anyone to at least wander into your nearest department store that carries Jo Malone (or a Jo Malone boutique if you are lucky enough to live in a location that has them) to sniff around.

I literally cannot stop spraying Wild Bluebell on everything! Pillows, clothes, the car and ME of course! This may pose a problem, as I mentioned, it was a bit of a splurge for me – but I just can’t resist.

And a lovely bonus for those who appreciate presentation as much as I do (they do this in all stores when you purchase a Jo Malone product):

“Beautiful packaging and thoughtful presentation are synonymous with Jo Malone. You receive an iconic Jo Malone gift bag with signature bow in grosgrain ribbon, and your sensorial journey begins. Upon opening, you’ll discover chic cream boxes embraced with grosgrain ribbon that are delicately nestled within soft black tissue.”

Author: ArtsyArchitette

Artist. Architecture lover! Beauty Nerd. Blogger. Crafty Aficionado. Music Enthusiast. Fashion Fiend. And yes I am like no other, deal with it world ♥ Obsession has such a negative connotation, but it’s true, I am obsessed with creativity and all products that help me create. Beauty products are not excluded from my obsession and while my blog has no distinct topic, all things gorgeous and fashionable will probably be a main focus. Here to share my ever-expanding knowledge, interesting finds and random factoids. P.S. I miss my studio

4 thoughts on “I have a mistress, her name is Wild Bluebell.

  1. i’ve always wanted to try this scent!🙂

  2. Pingback: A few of my favorite things: March « ArtsyArchitette

  3. Pingback: It’s my BIRTHDAY and I’ll go to the BEACH if I want to! « ArtsyArchitette

Leave a Reply

