ArtsyArchitette

Beauty Musings & Rogue Ramblings

Ipsy (MyGlam): November 2012

3 Comments

Hi loves!

Hope everyone’s holidays have been amazing and sorry for this post being so delayed.

Party Perfect… huh – I guess – well that was the theme of the Ipsy November Bag. The products didn’t exactly scream “party perfect” and well, I just wasn’t thrilled with some of the products.

NOVEMBER: Overall: C+. 

ArtsyArchitette November 2012 Myglam Ipsy Bag

ArtsyArchitette November 2012 Myglam Ipsy Bag Products

THE GOODS

Starlet Intense Eyeliner in “Chocolate” – Full Size

Okay, so first off, this is a very red based brown liner and in fact, I wouldn’t call it brown at all, but auburn (swatch below) and just not a color I have use for very often. On top of that, sorry Starlet, but this liner was kind of crap! If it weren’t for the other poor qualities, I would love to be able to recommend this as a brow pencil for auburn hair, but I just can’t.

Nearly useless color aside, the liner blends smoothly, but that was the only good thing about it.  It literally doesn’t set at all and is easily wiped away just with the slightest swipe of a finger. No staying power and doesn’t apply well to the waterline at all.  You’ll need to set this with a shadow for any hopes at long-wear.

Full Size Value: $11.00

Nailtini Nail Lacquer in “Millionaire” – Full Size

Definitely loving this polish! It is part of the Nailtini Speakeasy Lacquer Collection – loving the collection name!

It has been perfect for the holidays and new years. Plus, I have been getting compliments and questions on where to get it. The shade (swatch below) represents its name with gold and rose gold flecks with money/ink teal-green glitter, but not too over the top when its applied.

As with most glitter polishes it sets very quickly and looks great layered on every color I have tried so far (nudes, red, plums, and black)!

Full Size Value:  $13.00

theBalm Meet Matt(e) Eyeshadow in “Matt Batali”  – Single Eyeshadow Pan

As with many of theBalm powder products I have been introduced to this one does not disappoint. It is a deep mauve-based grey matte shadow and applies smoothly. It has great color payoff and good staying power! 

The mauve grey color (swatch below) is perfect for a smok(e)y eye, crease contouring and a more subtle liner look.

The minor downfall about this, may be that you can only get the color in the Meet Matt(e) Palette.

Full Size Value: $34.50 (9 piece eyeshadow palette)

Chella Defining Eyebrow Gel –  Sample Tube

Okay, sorry Chella, but this product is ridiculous. $18 for a sub-par clear brow gel, which hardly set my brows at all. Yeah, that’s all – just not worth it to me. Far more economical and quality brow gels out there.

My sample also contained hardly any product at all, and the alternate sample to this one this month was the Benefit – they’re real! beyond mascara - too bad I didn’t get to try out that one.

Full Size Value: $18

bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie Lipgloss in “Dare Devil”  – .07 fl oz Sample Tube 

I’m a bit undecided on this product, it has some good qualities, but a couple disappointments. From the name, its minty scent and cooling feeling I had thought it was a plumping lipgloss, but its not. It does claim to volumize your lips with vivid color, long-lasting mirror shine and hydration.

It applies for the most part non-sticky, but does get tacky to longer it is on. It does apply fairly sheer (heavily swatched below), though you can build it up, but the more you add to darken the color – the more gooey it can feel, something I am not a fan of.

So, yeah, I’m still on the fence. It does have some great qualities as far as its natural ingredients, exotic oils, botanical extracts, and antioxidants, but I wish it had the vivid color payoff it claims to and didn’t go tacky considering it is supposed to be long-wearing.

Full Size Value: $18

Product swatches below…

ArtsyArchitette November 2012 Myglam Ipsy Bag Products Nailtini Millionaire

ArtsyArchitette November 2012 Myglam Ipsy Bag Products Swatches

So, if I don’t get to post again before the new year, HAPPY NEW YEARS to everyone – wishing you all a great start to 2013 and I’ll be back soon with  A LOT of reviews and more… 

xo Sam 

Author: ArtsyArchitette

Artist. Architecture lover! Beauty Nerd. Blogger. Crafty Aficionado. Music Enthusiast. Fashion Fiend. And yes I am like no other, deal with it world ♥ Obsession has such a negative connotation, but it’s true, I am obsessed with creativity and all products that help me create. Beauty products are not excluded from my obsession and while my blog has no distinct topic, all things gorgeous and fashionable will probably be a main focus. Here to share my ever-expanding knowledge, interesting finds and random factoids. P.S. I miss my studio

3 thoughts on “Ipsy (MyGlam): November 2012

  1. love the gold tinsel ish polish! really cute! x

    • I know – it is so versatile for layering too! I’ve been having fun using this one all month.
      Since getting this one, I now want their Rusty Nail lacquer (from the same collection) – it is pewter with copper flecks !

  2. Pingback: Nails to ring in the New Year ♥ « ArtsyArchitette

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers